My Most Popular Posts of 2016

Standard

A new year and a lot of new blogs to write but before I do that I thought I would review what got the clicks in 2016. My hope is to see what you like reading about so I can write articles of greater interest. To measure popularity I am using the count of bit.ly links I use when promoting my articles on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.

Microsoft’s LinkedIn Acquisition

The most popular article by far was The Real Reason Microsoft Is Buying LinkedIn (And It Is Not For Their Profitability) from June. In over six months Microsoft has stayed very quiet as to their intentions. Dynamics 365, the obvious home for LinkedIn integration, still has nothing. I know of nothing coming in the next 12 months so how Microsoft will recoup the large investment they made in acquiring LinkedIn is still a mystery.

Dynamics 365

The second most popular article was Dynamics 365: The Quiet Revolution from July where I talked about the newly announced Dynamics 365. The simplification of integration between Dynamics CRM and Dynamics NAV/AX is certainly exciting and bridging the products with Common Data Services (CDS) takes a lot of the headaches away from these enterprise implementations.

In my original article I thought CRM and the ERP products were literally in the same database. We know now this is not the case; they are linked through integration with a database of common tables, the Common Data Model or, as it is now called Common Data Services.

Linking Power Apps to CDS makes for a powerful framework. This is a framework I will be exploring with Doug Daley in our presentation at Microsoft Ignite Australia this year. Come along for free beer and informative information.

Salesforce

While, traditionally, my quarterly financial reviews of Salesforce do not gather large amounts of hits, one Salesforce article did resonate this year. My article, back in January, comparing the new look and feel for Salesforce, Salesforce Lightning, and Dynamics CRM 2013/15 was of great interest.

I maintain my position that Salesforce Lightning was directly ‘inspired’ by the great work done by the Dynamics CRM product team in the user interface. Fortunately for Salesforce, Microsoft have continued to innovate the design with the Dynamics 365 interface smoothing off the rough edges of the Lightning-like interface. From what I hear there is also much more to come so watch this space over 2017.

Conclusions

There is a common theme with the three most popular articles; all three relate to recent product improvements or acquisitions. Therefore you, the audience has spoken. When new updates or acquisitions are announced, I will cover them and try to provide my own insights into the minds behind the decision. I look forward to seeing what 2017 brings for the Dynamics suite of products.

Leave a Reply

